Stepping Up to the Squat Rack

IMG_20160502_120850

It’s a place I’ve wanted to go for ages, but I have always been a bit scared to. Not because of that myth (you know, the one where women get massively bulky if they lift any weights). But more the dreaded fear of looking like a newbie and not knowing what I am doing.

I’m not going to lie. The first day I tried the squat rack I didn’t enjoy it. I didn’t like the feeling of thinking everyone was looking at me. The awkward struggle of trying to add the clips to the bar. The embarassing moment I realised I probably couldn’t add any weights to the bar so might have to go weight-less. All of it was pretty uncomfortable. But you know what? I did it. And now, four weeks later, I have to visit the squat rack every time I go to the gym. Why do I love it?

  • It’s a new challenge
  • It’s fun (weirdly)
  • I can feel it making a difference already
  • I get tired, but not that horrible cardio kind of tired

If you are considering lifting some weights but are nervous, I’d urge you to give it a try. You’ll quickly realise that no one is looking at you (they’re more interested in themselves), you’ll feel a sense of accomplishment and within a few weeks you’ll know what you’re doing. Everyone has got to start somewhere right?

Leave a Reply

