Sweet Potato Brownies

There are so many recipes for sweet potato brownies flying around that it’s hard to choose one! So I decided to ‘freestyle’ it and make my own, using some leftover ingredients in the fridge and cupboard.

My first attempt at sweet potato brownies from the Deliciously Ella website turned out as a bit of a disaster! Raw cacao powder is quite bitter and the first batch I ever made came out tasting just wrong! Bitter, no sweetness and they just didn’t satisfy my sweet craving. (This is no reflection on the original recipe – I’m sure I did something wrong when adding in the ingredients!)

So this time I decided to see what I had in the cupboard and try to come up with something different. I love making healthy food but sometimes I find the ingredients to be a bit pricey. Often you need to buy nuts and dates and if you’re buying them in large quantities it can add up! So this time, as pay day was still a few days away, I decided to rummage through the cupboards and find some leftovers to use. Luckily I had some coconut oil, cacao powder, maple syrup, sweet potatoes and flour. And all of that came together to make these…

sweet potato brownie

sweet potato brownies

Yum. These came out tasting really good – although they still aren’t quite sweet enough for me! So I’m going to add more maple syrup in or even try honey with them instead to see if I can get them tasting perfect for an afternoon snack. They tasted pretty good though so I’d recommend trying as they are!

So what’s in these that makes them good for you?

Sweet potatoes: high in antioxidants, high in fibre so good for your digestive system, high in vitamin A and B and they have lots of potassium which is good for controlling blood pressure.

Coconut oil: good fats, vitamins and iron

Maple syrup: if you buy organic Canadian maple syrup it’s full of minerals!

Eggs: packed full of protein

Raw cacao powder: immune boosting goodness

healthy brownies

Ingredients:

2 large sweet potatoes

1 cup of buckwheat flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp vanilla extract (optional)

4tbsp coconut oil

2 eggs

1/4 cup maple syrup

4 tbsp. cacao powder

Method: put the coconut oil and eggs into a food processor and blend. Add in the maple syrup and blend again. In a bowl, combine the flour, baking powder and cacao powder and add to the food processor. Mix in the food processor. Cut your sweet potatoes into chunks and boil them before adding to the mixture. Blend. Once the mixture forms a goo-ey consistency, remove and place in a lined baking tin. Place in the oven on 180 degrees for 10-15 minutes. Done!

(I served them with drizzled honey on and a bit of greek yoghurt…)

 

 

Leave a Reply

