Running Up That Hill

hill running

One of my biggest challenges since I started running five months ago was, and still is, running uphill. Running in general is tough enough but throw in a hill or two and suddenly it becomes a lot tougher.

There is a hill on my usual run route and the sad fact about hills is that you can’t avoid them. Well, I could, but it would mean running an extra long route home…

The route I run at the moment is really picturesque. I run through the forest and near the beach but towards the end of the run I always start to feel sick – I come out onto a main road which immediately has a steep hill and I dread it every time. Not surprisingly, I have always walked this hill. Whether I was running a 3k, 5k or longer – there was no way I was running up that hill!

But when I invested in a book (Runner’s World Complete Guide to Women’s Running) I realised just how important hills are to training. The book (and many people who run) assures you that hill training is essential.  Hills improve your strength and durability and – although at first slows your running down – it will eventually make you a faster runner. I know that a lot of keen runners must believe this whole-heartedly because I see so many people doing it. Lots of runners literally go up and down a hill for a training session, battling the steepness for an hour or so. Now, although I can’t imagine myself doing this anytime soon, I thought I should at least try to conquer a hill. And what better one to test out my running skills on than the one I face every time I want to go home!

I went out on a 5k run yesterday and made my way towards the dreaded hill. But I decided to attempt it, tackling the hill with a steady pace and not letting myself burn out in the first few minutes. Just when I thought I couldn’t continue, Eye of the Tiger came through my headphones. If ever I needed the Rocky soundtrack, it was then! It gave me the push I needed to make it up the hill. And although I certainly didn’t sprint up it, I got all the way to the top without stopping.

My next step is to practice the hill a few more times and then concentrate on improving my pace. But this milestone was definitely something I’m glad I have achieved. I know the half marathon route I am due to run in October has an even steeper hill so with a bit more hill training here’s hoping my feet don’t let me down.

2 thoughts on “Running Up That Hill

  1. I’m not a runner, but I’m about to become one. My good friend is a runner, and he is going to help me… by starting me out on hill running! I’m looking forward to it, but I’m dreading it too! Congrats on running up that hill!!!

Leave a Reply

